The Co-operative University of Kenya’s New University Council has been inaugurated. The Principal Secretary Ministry of Education, State Department for University Education Prof. Collette Suda presided over the inauguration fete at the CUK’s Main campus in Karen on 12th September, 2017.



The new Council Members were appointed by the Education Cabinet Secretary Dr. Fred Matiang’i in a Gazette Notice No. 7611 and 7612 dated 31st July, 2017. The new council members will serve a 3 – year term.

Speaking during the inauguration ceremony, Prof. Collette Suda congratulated the incoming council on their appointment and expressed the Ministry’s hope on them to deliver. She challenged the new council to nurture the young university to global standards fostering research and innovation.

The new Council Chairperson Dr. Ibrahim M. Ali noted that CUK being a new university has a lot to be offered by the incoming council. Other Council members appointed are: Mr. Peter Kariuki Gathirwa, Anthony Milimu Lubulellah, Mr. Patrick L. M. Musyimi, Ms. Anne Chepkorir, Ms. Mary Mati, Representatives of the PS MoE – State Department of University Education Madam – Ruth Agesa, OGW, HSC; PS Treasury – Mr Patrick Abachi; representing PS Treasury; and Ms. Madam Mary Mungai representing  PS State Department of Co-operatives .

Present during the inauguration ceremony was the CUK’s Ag. Vice chancellor Prof. Kamau Ngamau and the University’ Management Board.

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: