Message from the Registrar ACDRI

/Message from the Registrar ACDRI
Dr. Lydia Mutua-Registrar Academic, Co-operative Development, Research and Innovation Division

The Co-operative University of Kenya (CUK) is a chartered public university and is the only institution of higher learning mandated to offer co-operative education, research and training in Kenya. It is located along Ushirika Road in the serene environment of Karen, Nairobi.

The University offers an equal learning opportunity for all eligible students.  Being the premier co-operative institution of higher learning, it offers programmes ranging from Masters, Bachelors, Diplomas and Certificates. 

The University is also developing several Doctor of Philosophy degree programmes that are at various stages of development.  The Admission section supports the University mission by ensuring accessibility to quality higher education and training for eligible students and applicants. 

CUK admits both Government Sponsored and Self-Sponsored students. The Government Sponsored students are placed at the University by the Kenya University and Colleges Central Placement Service (KUCCPS). The University is an accredited Technical and Vocational Training (TVET) Centre, hence prospective students can apply for our Diploma programmes through KUCCPS.  Self-Sponsored students are required to make applications directly to the University by completing the application forms that can be obtained at the Co-operative University of Kenya Main Campus (Karen), Nairobi campus (Ufundi Co-op plaza) or downloaded on our website at We also admit international students for the various courses we are offering.

The Admissions Section acts as a liaison between the University and prospective students by providing information to applicants and guiding them through the various University admission processes and selection of relevant programmes. The University has successfully implemented the online registration for both new and continuing students. This has significantly fast-tracked the registration process and made it more efficient.

The Admissions Sections works closely with other Government agencies such as; the Kenya University and Colleges Central Placement Service (KUCCPS)Technical and Vocational Training Authority (TVETA), Universities Fund Board (UFB), Commission for University Education (CUE), Higher Education Loans Board (HELB) among others to ensure that the University aligns itself to the various statutory requirements and policies. 

I therefore welcome you to the Co-operative University of Kenya University and wish to invite you to not only access our website but to also visit the University.